A Vijayaraghavan new LDF convener

Thiruvananthapuram, Jun 1 (PTI) CPI-M leader and party Central committee member A Vijayaraghavan was today made the new convener of the ruling CPI-M-led LDF in Kerala.

Vijayaraghavan will replace Vaikom Viswam who has reliquished the post on health grounds after holding it for 12 years.

The decision to appoint Vijayaraghavan, a former Lok Sabha and former Rajya Sabha member, was taken at a meeting of the LDF liaison committee here.

Speaking to reporters, outgoing convener Viswam said it was also decided that CPI-M and CPI would contest in one each of the two “winnable” Rajya Sabha seats of the three that would fall vacant by this month end.

Congress leader and Rajya Sabha Deputy Chairman P J Kurian, CPI-M leader C P Narayanan and Joy Abraham of Kerala Congress are retiring on July 1.

The RS candidates would be decided later, he said to a question.

Vijayaraghavan told reporters later that his efforts would be to strengthen the LDF’s base. PTI JRK BN BN BN